Curfew re-imposed in many areas of Kashmir

Srinagar: Curfew was on Friday re-imposed in many parts of Kashmir for maintaining law and order ahead of Friday prayers.

Normal life remained paralysed for 63rd consecutive day in the unrest-hit Valley where 73 persons have been killed and several thousand others injured in the violence which erupted after Hizbul Mujahideen militant Burhan Wani was gunned down by security forces.

“Curfew has been imposed in many parts of Srinagar city and major towns of the Valley as a precautionary measure in view of apprehensions of violent protests after Friday prayers,” a police official said.

He said 14 police station areas of Srinagar – the summer capital of Jammu and Kashmir – and towns of Anantnag, Pulwama, Kulgam, Shopian, Pampore, Awantipora, Tral, Baramulla, Pattan and Palhallan have been placed under curfew.

There are restrictions on the movement and assembly of people in rest of the Valley, he said. PTI

Download Our Android App and Stay Updated 24x7. Download Now