Beware of this WhatsApp video calling invite

New Delhi: Earlier this week, WhatsApp launched its much-anticipated video calling feature+ . And in no time, spammers took note of this new feature and developed a spam website.

Shortly after the video-calling feature was introduced on November 15, WhatsApp users began receiving an invitation link for the same.

Once the user clicks on the given link, he is directed to a webpage to enable the new feature.

The spam message reads, “You’re invited to try WhatsApp Video Calling feature. Only people with the invitation can enable this feature”. And once you click on the link, it takes you to a website, which otherwise looks nothing like a spam, and appears quite believable.

The entire page has been designed in a way that would deceive even the most observant of us.

And when you click on the ‘enable’ tab, you will be directed to a new page which requires user verification. You would then be asked to share and invite four other friends to enable this feature through the same link.

Though the entire page and the process looks credible, mere clicking on this link can expose you to spammers, making you extremely vulnerable to hacking.

The correct way to enable video calling feature is to update your WhatsApp app through your Google Playstore or Apple Store. As soon as it is updated, the feature will be automatically enabled.

SHARE